Star Wars vs. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles/TMNT: What’s More Awesome!

What’s More Awesome? Star Wars vs. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Or if you prefer the short version, TMNT: You Decide!

What do I think? Wow. I have to lean toward, Both. I know that’s dumb but I can’t pick. I like them too much.

My Reasoning: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles has had some awesome movies. The movie in 2007 was a little dry in my opinion but none the less a very cool franchise. Star Wars has had very awesome films as well. Epic each one. But TMNT has a lot of nostalgia for me to go along with it. Each franchise is so much more than the movies though. It is the TV series for the turtles that I love and the books for Star Wars.

Alright, lets see if we can narrow this down a bit. I like it when the characters in stories that interest me have undergone extensive training so that they are able to do incredibly cool things.

Training: The turtles have been training for roughly 15 years of their lives in Ninjutsu. Jedi also train all of their lives, most starting their training at 3 or younger. When it comes to sheer skill required to accomplish the feats necessary to save the day, however, I think that the Ninja Turtles take the cake. They don’t have the Force leading them and guiding them through all that they do. They rely on hours and hours of extensive training. When a Jedi deflects a laserbolt with his lightsaber he or she has a warning feeling in the force before it happens. When a Turtle catches an arrow with his bare hands it is a considerably more awesome feat, in my opinion.

Weapons: I don’t know about you but this is one of my favorite parts about both franchises. The Turtles have: Twin katana(Leonardo’s swords of choice), Twin Sai(Raphael’s favorite weapons. Short and to the point. Just like him.), Nunchacku(Michelangelo’s weapons. Chosen by Splinter to match his unpredictable personality), and the Bo Staff(Donatello’s weapon). These are all very cool. I like the way Raph is able to use his blades and the long hand guards to disarm enemies quickly and efficiently. Leonardo is able to slice through metal with his Katana, depending on what episode you are watching. Mikey is very fast with the Nunchacku. And also very accurate. Donatello can deal out some hefty blows with his Bo staff. But remember, it isn’t strength of the arms that can cause the most damage but putting the whole body into each strike.

The lightsaber is pretty sweet. Composed of a hollow hilt, an energy pack, a focusing crystal, and an emitter for the energy blade. I can’t wait to get my hands on a real lightsaber. It may seem like sci-fi to some. But it feels pretty close to sci-fa to me. (Science-Fact for those of you who have trouble keeping up with accronyms. I do. Like which lazy person invented LOL. Wouldn’t it be easier to type hahahah.) A weapon that can deflect laserbolts and cut through most materials with ease(except for cortosis) is pretty awesome if you asked me. You can customize the color and the length of these things too. I mean who doesn’t want one? Another Star Wars staple is the blaster. It also has a simple design. You start with a highly volatile gas and a power pack. When fired a small amount of the gas moves through an XCiter or conversion enabler. This is what the power pack is for. It excites the gas before it enters an actuating module. Here it is converted to a particle beam. Finally it passes through a focusing lens, not as high quality as a lightsaber’s, and out the barrel as a laser bolt. Pretty sweat right? I think as far as weapons go, the coolness factor is definitely on Star Wars side here.

If any of the turtles were given a weapon laced with cortosis, they could give any Jedi a run for his money. Even Darth Vader would be hard pressed to take on a stealthy Ninja.

Finally: Do you have a favorite character in each universe? Who would win if Splinter and Yoda were to face off? Darth Vader and the Shredder? Leonardo and Luke? Help me out here and leave me your thoughts.

Star Wars vs. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: What’s More Awesome?

You Decide!

P.S. If Micheal Bay ever reads this before he releases the new Turtle film I leave this message, “Please please don’t make the turtles an alien race. They can be mutated by some ooze that aliens discard but don’t make them aliens. This is me being as polite as possible. Even if you don’t do as I ask you’ll still get my money in the theaters. But I’ll never forgive you.” Happy trails all. 🙂

P.S.S. A special Thanks to bigCHOMPER and vassago, the deviant artists that allowed me to post the awesome pictures of Leonardo and Raphael as Jedi and Donatello as a Sith! Check this and the other art that the artists have on Deviant.
5 thoughts on “Star Wars vs. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles/TMNT: What’s More Awesome!

  1. Hi there Isaiah!

    Love the blog, I have so many friends who would love the stuff you put on here! Of course they’re all guys:)

    Anyways, hope you are doing well, and look forward to more posts!

    Annika

    P.S.

    Bad Bad Leroy Brown was a hit.

    • Yes!!!! My first person to ever comment on my Blog! Annika. You are my hero! 😉 Congratulations. I hope you feel like you have done something great.

      Because you have. I would like to honor you and put a link to your blog in my next post. If you would permit such a thing of course. I don’t know if you want just anyone heading over there. Thanks again for commenting. 🙂

      All is going well. I got to do a lot of writing today on my book and am very thankful to God for that. I am glad you liked Bad Bad Leroy Brown.

      Glory be to God,
      Isaiah

  2. Hi Isaiah! This is Annika. Love the blog, so many of my friends would love what you write about! Of course they’re all guys. 😉

    Hope all is going well!

    P.S. Bad Bad LeRoy Brown was a hit.

Aye lad? Somethin' to say 'ave ye?

